Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve noticed a growing trend in Civil Rights discussions as I’ve read the news, seen comments on my wife’s website, and now even on my own website. Many people tend to lump anything in the conservative realm of political and/or religious thought in with whatever sentiments they have about past conservatives, whether the two have anything to do with each other or not.

Historical Hypotheticals

For example, I’m very conservative on gender roles by today’s standards. I believe that men and women have different roles in the home. This causes many to throw me in with a negative conservative they think of from the past. Since I am what they consider conservative about this issue, they figure I probably beat my wife before I go to preach on Sunday morning. If my wife then tries to give me constructive criticism about my sermon, I probably beat her again.
I’m also one of those crazy right-wingers politically who thinks that marriage should be between a man and a woman. Since I hold that view and therefore deny the civil right of marriage to same-sex couples, I’m pretty much the same in some people’s eyes to the right-wingers who thought that African Americans were less than human. In fact, they assume that if I had been alive in the 1850’s, I would have promoted the idea that the Bible supports slavery. If I had been alive in the early 1900’s, I would have supported prohibition.

Why Not Just Take Me At My Word?

But here’s reality – I wasn’t alive during the time of American Slavery. I wasn’t there for prohibition or the Roe v. Wade decision. I was born in ’83, and I have very strong opinions about a great many religious and political issues, past and present.
So instead of trying to figure out what I would have done if I lived in a time that I never lived in, why not just take me at my word. The Bible teaches that humans are made in the image of God, and that masters should respect their slaves. Therefore, knowing what I do about American slavery, I can strongly say that it was a grave sin that I am so thankful no longer exists in my country.
I also am not convinced that we should try to completely moralize our society, so I don’t see much point in prohibition. I think women and men are created equal and have equal levels of intelligence, so I’m glad that men and women both have the right to vote. I don’t believe (like many did) that there are different levels of worth and intelligence among whites and blacks, so I am so thankful for the results gained from the Civil Rights movements.
Just because there were some Christians among the many who were on the wrong side of these issues doesn’t mean that I would have done the same. Just because there are some Christians on the right side of an issue today doesn’t mean that I’m on the same side as them either.
In fact, I consider myself as a conservative Christian to be fighting against the liberals on the most important Civil Rights issue of our day. Women are being massacred by the millions, and it appears to be the liberals who are fighting to protect this institution of torture and death. Abortion in the United States is a Civil Rights issue. The issue is whether or not unborn baby boys and girls have the same right to life that their mothers and fathers do. And I will continue to support their rights from those who are taking them away.
See, just because you’re a liberal doesn’t mean you have a monopoly on Civil Rights. Just because a Baptist in Kansas today or in Georgia in 1950 was wrong about Civil Rights doesn’t mean that I agree with them or that all of my political thoughts are backward simply because I’m a Baptist from the Bible Belt. Evaluate my thoughts against the Bible and common sense, not against what you think I would have done in a situation I’ve never been in.